Inside best practice: White paper on empirical outcomes

HCPro's Weekly Update on the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®*, October 27, 2009

Years of trending and program development led to the development of the new 5 Model Components, which have served to reduce redundancy while capturing the depth and breadth of the Forces of Magnetism.

Data gathered from 147 designated organizations were studied using factor analysis, cluster analysis, and multidimensional scaling. Findings revealed seven domains of evidence: leadership, resource utilization and development, nursing model, safe and ethical practice, autonomous practice, research, and quality processes. And because outcomes are the essence of quality healthcare, the ANCC added empirical outcomes to the cluster as the eighth domain.

Further, it was identified that the redundancy that existed among the Forces of Magnetism and corresponding sources of evidence could be eliminated. Using these data and input from experts around the country, a new model for the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program® (MRP) was adopted. The five components of the model are:

  • Transformational leadership
  • Structural empowerment
  • Exemplary professional practice
  • New knowledge, innovations, and improvements
  • Empirical quality results

Source: This excerpt is from the October white paper from HCPro's Resource Center for the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®. Don't have a subscription? Take a look at the benefits of becoming a member of HCPro's Resource Center for the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®.

Most Popular