Inside the program: Understand Component II: Structural empowerment

HCPro's Weekly Update on the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®*, February 24, 2009

Now that the 14 Forces of Magnetism are integrated under one of the new 5 Model Components, there are five Forces that encompass Component II: Structural empowerment:

  • Force 2: Organizational structure
  • Force 4: Personnel policies and programs
  • Force 10: Community and the healthcare organization
  • Force 12: Image of nursing
  • Force 14: Professional development

Structural empowerment can be described as the structures (e.g., policies, councils, and processes) within an organization that empower nurses to practice in a professional and autonomous manner to achieve the highest degree of clinical excellence and professional fulfillment. Flat, decentralized structures which provide shared decision-making processes are common in ANCC Magnet Recognition Program® environments. With structural empowerment, the organization has a commitment to continual learning and educational and career advancement.

Source: HCPro's White Papers on the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®, December issue. Don't have a subscription? Take a look at the benefits of becoming a member of HCPro's Resource Center for the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®.

Most Popular