Inside the news: Designated hospitals leap into patient safety

HCPro's Weekly Update on the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®*, September 30, 2008

More than 1,200 facilities applied to be a 2008 Leapfrog Top Hospital. Only 33 earned the distinction—and seven of those facilities are ANCC Magnet Recognition Program® recipients.

The Leapfrog Hospital Survey is a patient safety evaluation tool that assesses a hospital’s performance on four quality and safety standards. Hospitals have to meet Leapfrog’s standards, such as implementing a computer physician order entry system and staffing intensive care units with qualified specialists. The hospitals also have to demonstrate progress in 13 of the National Quality Forum’s Safe Practices for Better Healthcare—a non-profit organization that focuses on  quality improvement—such as bloodstream infections and pressure ulcers.

The survey results are available on The Leapfrog Group’s Web site for consumers to compare hospitals in their area on patient safety and safety of selected procedures.

The seven designated hospitals that earned the recognition include:

  1. University of California (Orange), Irvine Medical Center
  2. Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago, IL
  3. Sinai Hospital of Baltimore
  4. Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital, New Brunswick, NJ
  5. Lehigh Valley Hospital and Health Network, Allentown, PA
  6. Children’s Hospital Boston
  7. Children’s Hospital of Michigan (Detroit)

Source: The Leapfrog Group


0 comments on “Inside the news: Designated hospitals leap into patient safety


Most Popular