Health Information Management

Membership Update: Final reminder of CCDS exam eligibility requirements

CDI Strategies, December 19, 2013

Want to receive articles like this one in your inbox? Subscribe to CDI Strategies!

New CCDS exam eligibility requirements take effect January 1. You will need to demonstrate that you have a minimum of two years of experience in CDI to take the exam.
Here are the new qualification guidelines:

  • Candidates must have at least two years of experience as a documentation specialist experience or equivalent.
    • Once a candidate has accumulated the time, it does not expire.
    • Work experience requirements must be met when the application is submitted.
    • Applications may be audited to verify work history and educational background.

Candidates must demonstrate that they meet one of the following requirements:

  • An  RHIA®, RHIT®, CCS®, CCS-P®, RN, MD or DO and two (2) years experience as a concurrent documentation specialist.
  • An associate’s degree (or equivalent education) in an allied health field and three (3) years of experience as a concurrent documentation specialist. The education component must include completed coursework in medical terminology and anatomy and physiology.
  • Formal education (accredited, college-level course work) in human anatomy and/or physiology, plus medical terminology, and disease processes, and a minimum three (3) years experience as a concurrent documentation specialist.

Applicants who qualify for the exam under current requirements may apply by December 31, 2013. Current qualifications are listed on the ACDIS web site and in the exam candidate’s handbook. Applicants have one calendar year from the date their name is submitted to the exam company to schedule and take their exam.

CCDS exam and ICD-10
The CCDS exam will be updated in July to incorporate ICD-10. If you want to take the ICD-9 version of the exam, you may wish to plan to take it in early February 2014.

The pass rate for the exam is approximately 74%, and anyone who does not pass may wish to take the same ICD-9 based exam again. Given that you have to wait 90 days between attempts, you will be able to schedule again prior to July 1.

CCDS vs. ACDIS membership
CCDS certification is different from ACDIS membership. You can hold one without the other. If you hold the CCDS certification you must renew it every two years by the anniversary of the date you took the exam. To renew, submit the application, fee, and proof of having earned 20 CDI-related CEUs within the two years you held the certification. ACDIS members save $100 on their CCDS recertification fee. If you are not sure when your certification expires, email Penny Richards. Membership in ACDIS does not entitle you to use the CCDS credential.

Click here to join ACDIS online or call customer service at 800/650-6787 and ask about group membership rates to sign up your CDI team.

Want to receive articles like this one in your inbox? Subscribe to CDI Strategies!

    Briefings on APCs
  • Briefings on APCs

    Worried about the complexities of the new rules under OPPS and APCs? Briefings on APCs helps you understand the new rules...

  • HIM Briefings

    Guiding Health Information Management professionals through the continuously changing field of medical records and toward a...

  • Briefings on Coding Compliance Strategies

    Submitting improper Medicare documentation can lead to denial of fees, payback, fines, and increased diligence from payers...

  • Briefings on HIPAA

    How can you minimize the impact of HIPAA? Subscribe to Briefings on HIPAA, your health information management resource for...

  • APCs Insider

    This HTML-based e-mail newsletter provides weekly tips and advice on the new ambulatory payment classifications regulations...

Most Popular