Health Information Management

13 members appointed to the Health Information Technology Policy Committee

HIM-HIPAA Insider, April 7, 2009

Want to receive articles like this one in your inbox? Subscribe to HIM-HIPAA Insider!

Gene L. Dodaro, acting comptroller general of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) announced the names of the 13 members who will serve on the Health Information Technology (HIT) Policy Committee, according to an April 3 GAO press release.

Under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, the committee will make recommendations on creating a policy framework for the development and adoption of a nationwide health information technology infrastructure, including standards for the exchange of patient medical information.

"Electronic sharing of information has the potential to improve the quality of health care in the United States. Many excellent candidates applied to serve on this committee, and the men and women named today reflect an impressive breadth of professional expertise and experience," Dodaro said in the press release.

The 13 members are divided into the following categories: 

Advocates for Patients or Consumers

1. Christine Bechtel, Washington, D.C. (three-year term)

Vice President, National Partnership for Women & Families

2. Arthur Davidson, M.D., Denver Colorado (two-year term)

Denver Public Health Department; Director, Public Health Informatics; Director, Denver Center for Public Health Preparedness; Medical epidemiologist; Director, HIV/AIDS Surveillance, City and County of Denver

3. Adam Clark, Ph.D., Austin, Texas (one-year term)

Director of Research and Policy, Lance Armstrong Foundation

Representatives of Health Care Providers, including 1 physician

4. Marc Probst, Salt Lake City, Utah (three-year term)

Chief Information Officer, Intermountain Healthcare

5. Paul Tang, M.D., Mountain View, California (two-year term)

Vice President and Chief Medical Information Officer, Palo Alto Medical Foundation

Labor Organization Representing Health Care Workers

6. Scott White, New York City, New York (one-year term)

Assistant Director, Technology Project Director, 1199 SEIU Training and Employment Fund

Expert in Health Information Privacy & Security

7. LaTanya Sweeney, Ph.D., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (three-year term)

Director, Data Privacy Lab, Associate Professor of Computer Science, Technology and Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

Expert in Improving the Health of Vulnerable Populations

8. Neil Calman, M.D., New York City, New York (two-year term)

President and CEO, The Institute for Family Health, Inc.

Research Community

9. Connie Delaney, R.N., Ph.D., Minneapolis, Minnesota (one-year term)

Dean, School of Nursing, University of Minnesota

Representative of Health Plans or Other Third-Party Payers

10. Charles Kennedy, M.D., Camarillo, California (three-year term)

Vice President, Health Information Technology, Wellpoint, Inc.

Representative of Information Technology Vendors

11. Judith Faulkner, Verona, Wisconsin (two-year term)

Founder, CEO, President, Chairman of the Board, Epic Systems Corporation

Representative of Purchasers or Employers

12. David Lansky, Ph.D., San Francisco, California (one-year term)

President and CEO, Pacific Business Group on Health

Expert in Health Care Quality Measurement and Reporting

13. David Bates, M.D., Boston, Massachusetts (three-year term)

Medical Director for Clinical and Quality Analysis, Chief of General Internal Medicine, Partners HealthCare/Brigham & Women’s Hospital

Want to receive articles like this one in your inbox? Subscribe to HIM-HIPAA Insider!

Most Popular