Home Health & Hospice

CMS releases new ICD-10 resources

Homecare Insider, February 23, 2015

 With the October 1, 2015, implementation date of ICD-10 ever-nearing, CMS has been releasing an array of new tools, resources, and testing opportunities to help providers gear for the transition.

In an email sent to stakeholders last Thursday, the agency announced the release of two new videos intended to illuminate key ICD-10 concepts:
Then, in an email sent to stakeholders last Friday, CMS urged providers to participate in the upcoming ICD-10 acknowledgement testing week, which will take place next Monday through Friday (March 2-6).
This is the third acknowledgement testing period CMS has conducted, with the previous two renditions held last March and November. After next week's testing session, CMS will host a subsequent one from June 1 through June 5. 
According to the agency, the purpose of these periodic testing events is to help direct submitters (i.e., healthcare providers and clearinghouses) prepare for the transition to ICD-10 by providing them with access to real-time help desk support.
To participate, CMS directs providers to consult the websites of their Medicare Administrative Contractors and clearinghouses (if applicable). Registration is not required for these virtual events, which are open to any provider who submits claims electronically.
For more information on acknowledgement testing, read the following MLN articles:
  • MM8858, which discusses provider acknowledgement testing
  • SE1501, which explains the differences between acknowledgement and end-to-end testing
  • SE1409, which describes the Medicare FFS ICD-10 testing approach
To watch the new ICD-10 videos, click here.
For the latest CMS news and resources on ICD-10, click here