Center for Transforming Healthcare announces leadership council

Accreditation Connection, October 29, 2010

The Joint Commission?s Center for Transforming Healthcare has announced the makeup of its new Leadership Council, a group of healthcare experts and hospital meant to help guide and foster the organization?s goals. The group will be chaired by Joint Commission president Mark Chassin, MD, MPP, MPH.

"The response from accredited health care organizations to the Center has been extremely positive, a fact due in large part to the ongoing commitment of participating hospitals and health systems and sponsors to address the toughest and most persistent problems facing health care across the country," says Dr. Chassin in an official statement. "The perspectives of the Leadership Advisory Council members will help us to bring everyone interested in safe, reliable health care together to create lasting solutions."

The council had its first meeting on October 29, 2011. Its membership includes:

  • Jack E. Bailey, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Paul Chaffin, Ecolab
  • George Halvorson, Kaiser Permanente
  • Donny C. Lambeth, Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
  • Alberto Mas, BD
  • Rich Miller, Virtua
  • Andy Mills, Medline Industries
  • Ronald R. Peterson, The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System
  • Thomas M. Priselac, Cedars-Sinai Health System
  • Gary Pruden, Johnson & Johnson Company
  • Michael J. Swinford, GE Healthcare
  • Richard Umbdenstock, American Hospital Association
  • Dan Wolterman, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System

For more information, visit The Joint Commission's Web site.


Most Popular