2011 accreditation and certification categories

Accreditation Connection, October 22, 2010

The Joint Commission announced this week that new accreditation and certification decision categories have been approved for 2011 by it's Accreditation Committee:

  • Accreditation with Follow-up Survey
  • Contingent Accreditation

These new categories are meant to replace the existing Conditional Accreditation category. There has been some confusion associated with CMS Condition-level deficiencies and Conditional Accreditation, which, The Joint Commission states, should be eliminated with the implementation of these new decision categories.

The category Provisional Accreditation has been eliminated. These new categories will go into effect January 1, 2011. For more information, click here.

Most Popular