CMS announces final five MACs

Rehab Regs, January 23, 2009

CMS announced the final five Medicare administrative contractors (MAC) on January 7, according to a CMS press release. The final five MACs will begin implementation activities immediately and are expected to fully take over all claims processing work in their jurisdictions by March 2010.

In awarding the final five MAC contracts, CMS has completed the process of selecting all 15 Part A/B MACs, who will be responsible for processing all Medicare claims under the Medicare Fee-for-Service program, eventually replacing fiscal intermediaries and carriers.
The final five MACs and their respective jurisdictions are:

  • Noridian Administrative Services, LLC: Jurisdiction 6 – Illinois, Minnesota, and Wisconsin
  • National Government Services: Jurisdiction 8 – Indiana and Michigan
  • Cahaba Government Benefit Administrators, LLC: Jurisdiction 10 – Alabama, Georgia, and Tennessee
  • Palmetto Government Benefits Administrators, LLC: Jurisdiction 11 – North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia
  • Highmark Medicare Services:  Jurisdiction 15 – Kentucky and Ohio


0 comments on “CMS announces final five MACs


Most Popular