Case Management

Case management Q&A

Case Management Weekly, December 5, 2012

Q. What are the levels of care?

A. The levels of care in descending intensive order include the following:
  • Long-term care hospital
  • Inpatient rehabilitation facility
  • Skilled nursing facility or nursing facility; subacute, long-term care, swing bed
  • Hospice and palliative care
  • Home health agency
  • Comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facility
  • Home/community-based services, adult day care, nonmedical home care, assisted living facility
  • Emergency housing (including homeless shelters, transitional living assistance)
  • Durable medical equipment, prosthetic, orthotic services
  • Primary care physician with no referral to another level
Editor’s note: This Q/A is adapted from Discharge Planning Guide: Tools for Compliance, Third Edition, published by HCPro, Inc.


Most Popular